Staff ID Card

You will receive a UZH Card upon commencing your position at the University. The card is issued on behalf of Human Resources by Student Services for your entire period of employment at the University.

If you are simultaneously an employee and a student at the University, you can also use your UZH Card as your student identity card. A second card does not need to be issued. Dual staff/student status is printed on the card (on the thermal printing field).

How to Get Your UZH Card

Upon appointment at UZH, you will receive a card application form. This must be filled in, affixed with a photo and returned to Student Services. Your personal UZH Card will then be delivered per post within two to three weeks.

If you did not receive the form, please contact the UZH Card office (kartenbuero@ad.uzh.ch) at Student Services. Please include the following information in your e-mail so that your UZH card permissions can be checked and the card sent to you:

  • Employee number
  • First name, last name
  • Date of birth
  • Department / institute / seminar / clinic / office
  • Date of commencing employment
  • Home address
  • Digital photo (as a .jpg or .png)

Validation Prior to First Use

In order to validate your card, you must go to a validating station to have your data printed on the thermal printing field. This process takes only a few seconds and must be repeated by mandated instructors every semester, and by all other staff annually. .

Personalausweis

Die UZH Card wird zu Beginn des Arbeitsverhältnisses für die gesamte Anstellungszeit im Auftrag der Personalabteilung von der Abteilung Studierende ausgestellt.

Für Mitarbeitende, welche gleichzeitig zu ihrer Anstellung auch an der Universität Zürich studieren, ist die UZH Card sowohl Personal- als auch Studierendenausweis, d.h. es wird keine zweite Karte ausgestellt. Die Doppelrolle ist im Validierbereich vermerkt.

Vorgehen zum Erhalt der UZH Card

Bei Eintritt erhalten neue Mitarbeitende ein Antragsformular, das mit einem aktuellen Foto versehen an die Abteilung Studierende retourniert werden muss. Die persönliche UZH Card wird innerhalb von zwei bis drei Wochen per Post zugestellt.

Falls Sie diesen Antrag nicht erhalten haben, wenden Sie sich an die Abteilung Studierende, Kartenbüro (kartenbuero@ad.uzh.ch). Bitte geben Sie per Mail folgende Angaben bekannt, damit Ihre UZH Card-Berechtigung geprüft und Ihnen der Ausweis zugestellt werden kann:

  • Personalnummer
  • Name, Vorname
  • Geburtsdatum
  • Institut / Seminar / Klinik / Abteilung
  • Eintrittsdatum
  • Privatadresse
  • digitales Foto (JPG- oder PNG-Format)

Validieren vor dem ersten Gebrauch

Damit der Personalausweis gültig wird, muss der Thermodruckstreifen an einer Validierstation mit den UZH-spezifischen Daten beschrieben (d.h. validiert) werden. Dieser Vorgang dauert nur wenige Sekunden und muss von Lehrbeauftragten semesterweise, von allen anderen Mitarbeitenden jährlich wiederholt werden.